Introducing the Board of Assembly

Eight feet of pure art assembly line chewed goodness, perfect for putting together 12 double sided mirror thingees. And that’s good, because I need to do them in the hundreds.

Okay. If you’re like me, no matter how many supplies you have in your garage, you are missing that one thing.

I was missing brads.

board1Funny tangent: I drove the 8 miles to the nearest hardware store, cruised around the aisles and then went and asked the guy at the front “where are the brads?” to which he sagely replied “what are brads?” to which, though I was amazed I’d walked into the one hardware store staffed by someone who knew nothing of hardware I replied without missing a beat or changing the tone of my voice “they’re nails without heads” “oh” he replied and ambled down an aisle to where the little plastic packs of brads are hanging on the wall and then walked off.

Okay, brads accomplished. I went cruising for epoxy. Nowhere. I walk up to the front again. “Do you have epoxy?” and he walks up another aisle and looks at the glue for school projects and the glue for torn rain coats and the glue for all the other stuff I don’t want to do and asks “what’s it used for?” and again, laid low as I was by the question I was prepared and answered immediately “it’s a two part glue with a separate base and a bonding catalyst you mix together.” to which he nodded and then pointed up at the little 2 tube super glue epoxy for fixing something really tiny when I needed pints. “Okay, thanks” I said and took my winnings home. I already had epoxy, just wanted to stock up.

 

board2The reason I needed brads was for the new production board for the next batch, hopefully batches, of double sided mirror thingees. The brads were to hold the mirror tiles in place.

The board and carefully aligned brads were meant to facilitate an expedited assembly process for the double sided mirror thingees, which could then be put together in chains as desired. The process is thus:

board4

Put in the bottom mirror tiles, backs facing up

Apply the marine epoxy to the tiles  on the board.

Stretch the baling wire in one length from end to end over the center of the tiles, apply the shim lengths of wire

Apply the marine epoxy to the other tiles, and press them, back to back on the tiles on the board.

Press down to even out the epoxy and level the tiles. Leave canned goods on top while it cures for 24 hours.

After 24 hours, remove cans, cut wire 1/2 way between tiles, curl wire into hook.

 

board5I was really happy with the board and a little cardboard dealio I made, everything designed to hold the tiles in place while the epoxy was applied. Way less mess, way faster. I hardly got any epoxy on my hands. I timed the operation, and was able to go through the process for 12 tiles in just under 30 minutes with is how long it takes before the epoxy starts to harden.

Okay, so now we wait for the epoxy to cure.

 

Leave a Reply

